The MeerKAT Absorption Line Survey
Willem Baan
ASTRON, the Netherlands
Andrew Baker
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey,  USA
Robert Beswick
University of Manchester, UK
Sanjay Bhatnagar
Dipankar Bhattacharya
IUCAA, India
Albert Bosma
LAM, France
Chris Carilli
Michelle Cluver
University of Western Cape, South Africa
Francoise Combes
Observatoire de Paris, France
Catherine Cress
CHPC, South Africa
Rajeshwari Dutta
IUCAA, India
Johan Fynbo
Dark Cosmology Center, Denmark
Sharmila Goedhart
SKA SA, South Africa
George Heald
CASS, Australia
Matt Hilton
UKZN, South Africa
Tanvir Hussain
IUCAA, India
Matt Jarvis
University of Oxford, UK/
University of Western Cape, South Africa
Gyula Jozsa
SKA SA, South Africa
Peter Kamphuis
NCRA, India
Ajit Kembhavi
IUCAA, India
Jurgen Kerp
Alfa/University of Bonn, Germany
Hans-Rainer Klockner
MPIfR, Germany
Jens-Kristian Krogager
IAP, France
Varsha Kulkarni
University of South Carolina, USA
Cedric Ledoux
ESO, Chile
Ashish Mahabal
California Institute of Technology, USA
Tom Mauch
SKA SA, South Africa
Kavilan Moodley
UKZN, South Africa
Emmanuel Momjian
Raffaella Morganti
ASTRON, the Netherlands
Pasquier Noterdaeme
IAP, France
Tom Oosterloo
ASTRON, the Netherlands
Patrick Petitjean
IAP, France
Anja Schroder
SAAO, South Africa
Paolo Serra
CASS, Australia
Jonathan Sievers
UKZN, South Africa
Kristine Spekkens
Royal Military College of Canada, Canada
Petri Vaisanen
SAAO, South Africa
Thijs van der Hulst
Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, the Netherlands
M. Vivek
University of Utah, USA
Jing Wang
CASS, Australia
O. Ivy Wong
ICRAR/UWA, Australia
Ayanda Romanis Zungu
UKZN, South Africa
The MALS team

   Neeraj Gupta  
   IUCAA, India
   Raghunathan Srianand
   IUCAA, India

Principal Investigators

The MALS team consists of about 45 multi-wavelength astronomers and experts in large spectroscopic surveys.  About 25% of the team members are from South Africa.  The team is organized into following working groups:

*Science Working Groups (SWGs)
SWG-1: Cold atomic and molecular gas absorption in normal and active galaxies.
SWG-2: Galaxy dynamics and evolution through HI and OH emission
SWG-3: Astrochemistry, pc-scale structure, magnetic fields and variation of fundamental constants

*Technical Working Groups (TWGs)
TWG-1: Target selection, survey strategy, preparatory multi-wavelength observations
TWG-2: Software pipeline development, archiving and distribution of data products
TWG-3: Science popularization and Human Capacity Development
TWG-4: Coordination with MeerKAT commissioning team and other Large Survey Projects 
The team is open to individual researchers.  The process for joining the collaboration is initiated by nomination from a member of the survey.  The proposal is then discussed and reviewed within the collaboration.  After the proposal is approved by the PIs and the MALS Advisory Board (Bhatnagar, Combes, Jozsa, Moodley, Morganti and Petitjean), the status of the membership is communicated to the new member. 

Over 2018-2022, MALS will go through following project phases:
1) Survey design and Preparatory observations to identify MALS pointings,
2) Commissioning and Early science observations with various MeerKAT array releases,
3) Full survey with MeerKAT, and
4) Multi-wavelength follow-up.
At this stage, we are particularly interested in new members who can make contributions to the first three phases of the survey.  If you are interested to join or would like to know more about the project phases, survey design and formal policy for joining the collaboration please contact the PIs at and